All posts by Jay

Is Your LTV > 4 x COA?

Lifetime client value

(Photo by Sami)

Even if you’re scared to balance your checkbook, to create a sustainable business you need to be able to calculate some basic business variables. Without this knowledge, you have no idea if your marketing is working, if your business is profitable, or if your pricing is reasonable.

To start with, you need to understand your COG (cost of goods). How much does it cost you to produce that widget? There’s the cost to create the widget (or purchase it) – your hard costs (if you create 10 widgets, it likely costs you ten times as much to make as the first one) Lurking in the background are your soft costs: utilities, rent, insurance, payroll, etc. By knowing your COG, you can determine if your pricing reflects your costs.

Your next variable is COA (cost of acquisition). How much money does it take to get a new client? How many pay-per-click campaigns? How many newsletters? How many phone calls? How many magazine advertisements? How many TV placements? You can’t start by copying someone else’s COA – their effectiveness depends not only on their actions but also on their offer.

Finally, determine your LTV (lifetime value of a customer) – how much money will your new customer likely give you over the span of time they use your product or services? If you charge $25/month for a service, and they use your services for a year (and then “graduate”), their LTV is $25 x 12 = $300.

A sustainable business requires a LTV > 4 * COA – or in English -“the amount of money your average client gives you over their relationship with you must be at least four times your cost to acquire them”. You need to have a well-funded sales cycle to ensure ongoing profitability. If you seek investors, they’ll know that if they loan you more money to acquire customers, they can rightly expect a clear return on their investment from your LTV.

If your LTV is out-of-whack with your COA, then consider either: raising your prices (to increase your LTV) or reducing your COA (by increasing the effectiveness of your marketing efforts). You don’t need to be a math wizard – but you do need to be money smart.

Mexican Influenced Bakery And Coffee House

I would like to open a bakery/coffee house near a tourist spot in San Diego called Old Town, a historic state park, where the Spanish settlers established a mission — there’s museums, Mexican restaurants, and shops selling pinatas, wrestlers masks, ceramics, etc. This bakery will focus on freshly made desserts with a Mexican influence, such as Tres Leche Cake, Tequila Cake, Churros, Chilli Chocolate Cupcakes (spicy), Brownies, Dulce de leche pie, etc. Contemporary twists on traditional recipes in a festive, casual setting. One name I’m thinking about is “El Panadero Borracho” which is the drunk baker in Spanish. Any name and tagline suggestions? Thanks!

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Jay’s Answer:  “El Panadero Borracho” could work well, or not depending on if the tourists “get” that you’re a Mexican Bakery. If need be, add “The Drunk Baker” as the name in parentheses, for example:

El Panadero Borracho (The Drunk Baker)

If you’re unsure what people think of the name, consider spending time around Old Town, and asking the tourists (and/or creating a pop-up bakery stall).

Unique Sponsorship Ideas!!

I’m raising money for my nephew, who has severe cerebral palsy, to have dolphin therapy. We have carried out a number of fundraising events, but I’m now hoping to do an individual sponsorship event, and was hoping for some unique ideas for what I could do to generate more interest in this? (Anything that is a bit different from the standard run, bike ride, silence etc etc)

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Jay’s Answer:

  • Raffle (to have a non-therapeutic dolphin experience)
  • Team up with your local aquarium/sea world

Lead Designer Wants To Work Off Site

We are a small full service marketing agency. Our lead designer’s spouse has an opportunity in a different state. Before I truly consider whether such a plan would work for us, I would appreciate input on pitfalls and advantages you may have experienced from such an arrangement. The designer wishes to remain a full time employee.

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Jay’s Answer:  The success of this depends on a number of factors:

  • what the other designers think about this change
  • attitudes about remote employees w/in your company
  • the employee’s ability to self-manage, self-motivate, and self-direct
  • how much f2f time is truly needed

If you can accommodate the employee, your own management skills will need to grow, since you’ll be communicating differently, and won’t regularly see them at the cooler.

The team’s attitudes are paramount. If the team’s all for it, and have a plan in place to keep the quality as-high, then you can try it as an experiment, and learn from the process.

Some teams/company cultures vitally depend upon tight integration face-to-face while others can learn to have team members who are seldom physically close, but who work very well together.

Tagline For Rebranded Wedding/Event Planner

I am in the process of re-branding myself.  I have a graphic designer who has created a new logo for me, but I can’t
seem to come up with a tag line.  I am a wedding and event planer.  Please help!  thanks.

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Jay’s Answer: Best wishes on your rebranding. For this effort, I hope you spent time creating a marketing strategy that identifies your target audience (location, demographics, etc.), your unique benefit, lifetime value, etc. If you did, then you have the seeds of ideas for creating a tagline that shares a key meaningful benefit to your audience. Your current tagline “Your inspiration is our inspiration” doesn’t help clarify what you offer, it just echoes your business name.

By providing you with a generic tagline that simply says “I’m a wedding & event planner” won’t do you justice. What you want is a tagline that especially fits your business, which requires a lot more information from you before you can get an effective and fitting tagline.

Tagline And Name Needed For Charity Pet Shop!

I am having some difficulty coming up with a name for an online pet shop that will be donating it’s proceeds to local shelters and animal rescue organizations. We will be selling collars, accessories, coats, etc., but not supplies like crates and such. I am located in a fairly upscale suburban neighborhood in Ohio, and there is a possibility that we may open an actual shop in this location as well. Right now we are focused on the online store, though, and I cannot seem to come up with an original idea! Most combinations of home, rescue, shelter, pet, paws, etc. are already taken by different rescue groups.

I did like the tagline “collars for a cause”, but that’s already a charity. Considered “helping homeless pets” as a tag but it doesn’t seem to convey the retail end of things, just sounds warm and fuzzy.

All of our items are original designs, and made by hand in the US. We are focused on high quality collars, coats, and leashes, with the possibility of expanding into other items down the road. We will not be carrying anything that can be found in a big-box pet store– everything here is unique, and we also offer customizations to our pieces.

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Jay’s Answer: I’d suggest focusing on your primary benefit (original, USA-made), and let your donation be mentioned in your tagline and/or other marketing. For example:

  • Handmade For (4) Paws
  • Fido’s Handmade
  • Lovingly Original Pet Supplies

 

Ideas For Domain Name Of Store

Our store is eco home products, sustainable products, both luxury goods and grocery store priced products, organic towels and spa bathrobes, organic and raw foods snacks, raw/organic truffles and chocolate, soy candles, soaps. More women will probably visit the page over all. The name of the store is taken, and any ideas appreciated for the domain name. Also available is

  • (ourname)inc.com
  • (ourname)boutique.com
  • (ourname)sons.com
  • the(ourname)online.com
  • (ourname)luxe.com

The name of our store is somewhat similar to mezzanine, but I don’t have the permission to post it here since our e-commerce store is not yet live.

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Jay’s Answer: If the name is already taken, and can be considered a competitor, don’t buy the names you’ve listed, since you may inadvertently be sending people to your competition if your name isn’t remembered accurately.

Global Innovation Marketing Theme

Hi running a campaign called global innovation venture partner. Need a theme, or a quote for the same. any help? Collaboration and co-innovation drive business success today. It is also the spirit that drives GIVP, or the Global Innovation Venture Partner (GIVP) programme. A programme that looks ahead,, to give the world the best of innovation. The GIVP Programme is an effort to identify companies that create path-breaking products and solutions. And take their creations to new markets. It is an opportunity that brings us closer to innovators around the world.

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Jay’s Answer:

  • GIVP Programme 2014
  • The world of GIVP
  • What The World Needs Now Is …
  • Have a World-Class Idea?
  • Spark Your Idea Globally

Need A Fun Kid’s Yoga Studio Name

Hi! I am looking for a catchy, fun name for a new KID’S yoga studio that I am opening in Culver City, CA. It will cater to kids, prenatal and families, so the name will need to be kid friendly, so it stands out as a “kid” studio. It is a small studio (1000 square ft), so might franchise in the future. There are a lot of yoga studios in LA, but not any specifically for kids. Thanks for your help in advance.

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Jay’s Answer:

  • Wild Yoga
  • (Xciting) Yoga Zoo (XYZ)

 

Looking For A Name For A New Day Spa

I will be opening a day spa, where I will offer everything from massage to nails, reflexology and facials, sauna and body treatments. I have previously worked in 5 star spa`s and would like to offer the same quality of service in my spa but, at a more affordable price. I want my name to give a sense of well being and relaxation, pampering and luxury. Thanks :))

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Jay’s Answer:

  • 5 Star Spa For (4) Less
  • Tranquility Spa
  • Harmony Spa